Skip navigation

Someone asked if they could see a recording of my IPv6 presentations. No, not really, but I’d be happy to do a panel via Google+ Hangout. My format is very amenable to it.

My format

For each of $(topic meander):

  1. Ask some probing/polling questions. What’s the lowest knowledge level in the audience?
  2. If it seems that there might be some foundational knowledge missing, go back to (1), but ask questions probing deeper into the foundational area.
  3. Give a brief explanation of concepts to get everyone familiar with a base level of terminology and concepts.
  4. Explain how IPv6 extends, relates or changes what people are already familiar with.
The more times I hit (2), the more frequently I get audience participation and assistance in (3). That’s nice, because audience members usually know each other better than I know them, and can sometimes couch things in better terms.
Topics

I start a presentation with most of the room not even knowing what ARP is, and end in an hour with everyone having at least connecting knowledge of:

  • Ethernet segments
  • ARP, ARP storms, NDP
  • broadcast, multicast
  • IP, UDP, TCP
  • netmasks, CIDR
  • the OSI network model (in particular, layers 1-3), dual/multistacking
  • address scopes
  • proxies/application-layer gateways, IPv4/IPv6 transition mechanisms
  • IPv6 certification and practical experience
  • IPv4 exhaustion
  • NAT in IPv4, NAT in IPv6
  • What a /64 is, and why it’s important.
  • Router Announcements, DHCP in IPv4 vs IPv6.
  • And other stuff I don’t remember off the top of my head; I address topics as they come up in relation or proximity to where conversation’s currently gone.

One or two of those items might get lost, depending on how frequently I have to cover the same ground. But if someone takes notes on terminology and concepts, they should have everything they need to fill in the gaps.

